Broken Promises

 

I look into your eyes, and I can see all of my broken promises reflected back at me. No matter how hard I try, I always fail, and you are my guilty conscience, reminding me of my failures.

I sigh and light up a cigarette, acknowledging another failure – another broken promise. It was made with all the best intentions in the world, and yet, as always I failed to live up to your high standards.

Turning on the shower, I let the mirror steam up so I can’t see your accusing eyes: My eyes. I hate making new year’s resolutions.

Leave a Reply

