The Raven’s Call

Battered and bloody, I lie on the battlefield gasping for breath. My ears ring with the sounds of dying men’s screams.

Victory horns echo across the valley, announcing the end of the day’s warfare; not a moment too soon. The sun is already dipping in the west. Soon, it would have been too dark to fight.

I ache all over. My muscles tremble with exhaustion. Despite the waves of nausea that threaten to overwhelm me, I must struggle to rise. I cannot meet this dusk on my back.

Somehow, despite the odds, I’m the victorious leader of this forsaken army.

Leave a Reply

