Mixed Messages

Mixed Messages

It’s not as if I’d forgotten our anniversary, or anything! I hadn’t.

I bought her a subscription to the gym.

What’s wrong with that? It’s not as if I’d told her she was getting fat or anything. I’d thought she might like a bit of time to herself; work off the stress of the day.

Nevertheless, I could sense the coldness even from her texts. “where r.u?!”

It seemed such an innocuous question, didn’t it? Maybe I was reading too much into it. “Sorry, traffic! Luv u. <heart> uok?” I texted back.

“I’m fine.”

Oh shit, I thought. I’m dead!

Leave a Reply

