The Madness

Another crazy day. I swear some drivers are trying to get themselves killed. What’s got into them? I finally arrive home and take a few moments to compose myself.

I still feel a little off-centre, even in the safety of my own home.

Something isn’t right, but I can’t put my finger on it. In an effort to shake off the feeling, I take the dog for a walk. By now it’s dark, and a little nippy.

The clouds creep by on the sullen breeze as we head away from the streetlights, out into the fields beyond. The moon slips from behind the clouds, ripe and as red as a watermelon.

Ah! That explains it; the autumnal full moon.

I can feel the hairs on my arms growing longer, and my teeth extending, as I quickly shed my clothes. Naked as the day I was born, I look up to the sky and howl.

My dog; a pathetic mongrel of unknown breeding that I took pity on a few year ago, tries to howl in response, but he can’t quite pull it off.

Still, what he lacks in breeding, he makes up for with enthusiasm. No stick chasing for him this evening.

It’s time to hunt.

Leave a Reply

