Mutually Assured Destruction

“Of course I carry a gun,” he boasted.

“Why?” I asked

“In case I get burgled or mugged. Someone might try to kill me.”

“Does that happen often?”

“No, not really,” he confessed.

“I see.” Seeking further clarification I asked, “But it’s happened to you?”

“It could …” he claimed, “But it won’t because I’m carrying my piece.”

“Oh, I see. It’s like M.A.D.”

“What!”

“M.A.D. Mutually Assured Destruction, like when there was all that hoo-ha about nuclear weapons. They won’t fire their missiles because they know we’d fire ours. Is that it?”

He rolled his eyes and walked off.

Leave a Reply

