Vallum Hadriani

It’s taken me nearly six years to reach Solway Firth; six years of misery.

When I was first recruited, I was no more than a boy, getting paid a pittance for digging ditches. Gradually, I served my apprenticeship and became a fully-fledged builder, though I lost two fingers in the process.

I curse the miserable rain that weeps from the northern skies, and the dense fog that haunts these god forsaken lands. Most of all I curse the Picts who stole my fingers during one of their many raids.

Laying the final stone, I thank Bacchus that it’s finally over.

Leave a Reply

