Poe’s Muse

Sitting at my desk I seek inner peace. My quill rests there before a blank page. Finally, I dip quill into ink.

Knockady-knock.

With a sigh I head for the door, but no one is there. Damned kids!

I settle again before my desk.

Knockady-knock.

“Bugger off!” I yell. Snatching the handle, I yank the door open, but again there is no one there.

Knockady-knock. The sound isn’t coming from the door, but from my chimney. Looking up, I see a raven perched on the eaves.

I doff my cap and inspired, begin to write. “Once upon a midnight dreary…”

Leave a Reply

