Hide and Seek.

(For Kathleen)

I wake in the darkness and feel the emptiness around me. I know you’re there, but I cannot feel you.
“Are we playing hide and seek again,” I whisper.
I hear a sleepy grunt in the darkness, giving me a clue to your location.
“One-one hundred, Two-one hundred, Three-one hundred …” I murmur with a smile.
I give up counting, skipping ahead to the best bit… “Coming … ready or not!”
Slithering across the bed like a snake, I quickly find your warm body and entangle myself around you.
Your sleepy groan of contentment encourages me kiss to your neck. “Tag!”

Leave a Reply

