Helplessness

 

There is nothing more heart-breaking than that moment of helplessness, watching someone you love suffer and being unable to help them.

You moan softly, half asleep, and I look over. Your eyes open and a pained expression crosses your face. Our eyes meet, and you start to cry, loud piteous wailing as your emotions overcomes you.

You cannot speak, but your cries speak louder to me than words.

“Hush love! I’m here,” I soothe, helping you up and cradling you in my arms. I stroke your back and comfort you.

You burp loudly, then erupt in childish giggles; discomfort forgotten.

Leave a Reply

