Book Reviews – What the readers have said…

Authors are like flowers, they need to bask in the sunshine, and get the odd shower of rain, in order for them to grow. Book reviews are the life blood of an author. They give them feedback, both good and bad, on how you the reader felt about their books. Not all book reviews are good. You can’t please everyone, and an artist needs to develop a thick skin to survive the sharper critiques that may come their way. Some reviews are downright insane, and should be taking with a pinch of salt, or perhaps a shovelfull.

Nevertheless, a review of a book is much appreciated by the author, even more so when it comes out of the blue from some unknown source. Those reviews can make an author’s day, or even their week.

A review also tells other potential readers what to expect from the book, so they are a valuable marketing tool. Some authors go to great lengths and skullduggery to encourage reviews. There are sites that you can pay to get reviews done, though they don’t garentee that the reviews will be favourable. Other authors trade reviews which in itself may not be a bad thing, but I have always felt that it would lead to pressure to write a good review, rather than an honest one. I’ve always shied away from such practices. I’m happy to get less reviews but know that the reviews that are out there are genuine.

I want to know what you really thought of my books.

Below is a collection of reviews for the different books I have published.

Format:Kindle Edition
I have deliberately not looked at other reviews before writing mine. Having knowledge of the author’s work with Drabbles, short stories, and poems I was eager to read his first novel.
Set in a mythical land of Dragania, the story revolves around a young girl called Maerlin and her journey from girl into woman-hood. As others will testify I like stories with pace and in this tale it begins a little slow for my tastes, but I turned the page, and another. Before too long I kept turning, wanting to know more.
The extent of the writer’s imagination is truly staggering-the descriptive passages allowing the readers mind to wander freely.
At first the words flowing from Nessa – ‘yes dear’ – did little to endear me to the character but that changed with the introduction of Cull. A violent murderer, yet brave man; to me he was the perfect foil for Nessa.
Other characters join the band as the adventure continues. The evil character, Dubhall, uses his power to corrupt and harm without mercy, especially with Maerlin. Certain passages near the end of the book show this in some detail.
And the pace really heats up with the battle scenes, nicely written by the author.
All in all it is a terrific read, a story for young adults as well as those older. Naturally any writer wants to leave the reader wanting more and in this case the writer delivers handsomely.
I have one small quibble for an index of names and meanings would have helped.

Maerlin’s Storm

5.0 out of 5 stars Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga 1)September 6, 2013

By Zephyr Book Reviews
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
The synopsis of this book does not get even close to giving this book justice. It is just a small part of a great tale. So if you are thinking it doesn’t sound interesting you need to think again, there is just so much more to it.Maerlin plays a very important part of a war in the making. Though a series of events she finds herself in the hands of Nessa, a magic wielder and is shown that the storms that have followed her all her life are so much more than she ever thought. Growing in the knowledge of the Wild-Magic she has she finds herself in the unlikely group of a prince in hiding, the heir to the begger throne as well as a war chief and a close friend. Its up to her to grasp her magic before things turn towards the dark.Hmm, I usually don’t try to sum books up like that but I feel it needed to be done in order to express how much is really going on in this book. Its not just Maerlin coming to grips with her life, there is so much more going on under the surface of things.The book is told from a few different point of views, though in the beginning you are mainly focused of Maerlin as she learns what exactly she is. This is done brilliantly, there is nothing more that I love than being able to view things from so many perspectives. There was never a time that I didn’t know who’s head I was in. It also gives you a chance to get to know everyone that is on this quest and to see how the grow and change…
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Debut Fantasy Novel, June 22, 2014
By
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a very good read. Nav is a new author and this was a very good debut novel. There’s lots going on and clearly lots to come. The characterisation is good and each character brings new concepts with them. For example, the central character Maerlin suspects she can control storms and her fears are proven as she sets out on a journey of discovery that ends with her companions in peril and the land on the verge of war. There’s an undiscovered prince, a beggar lord travelling the country as a tinker, fear and betrayal. Nav is from Ireland and his Celtic heritage shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I do not comment on a book often though I read all the time I have read some of fantasy best and some of fantasy worst. This is up there with one of the best I have read in a long time the characters make you care about them they are not all powerful after book one I can’t wait to read the next book in the series bravo congratulations I would have given this. Look five stars but I read the two and four star reviews before I get a book there will always be fans and always be critics so I discount one and five star reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Form of Magic, April 14, 2014
The synopsis just hints at the story, which is volume one in The Storm-bringer Saga. Don’t think it is that simple. The heroine of the story, Maerlin does much more than merely learn to control her emotions which caused the storms that followed her wherever she went throughout her life so far.
We are introduced to Wild Magic (a fascinating idea) and Maerlin’s companions in her adventures, including, amongst others, a High Priestess, a Healer, a Prince and a War Chief as Maerlin plays her part in the development of a war. This book has all you need to keep you engrossed from page One to the End and I recommend it. The book is the first in a series, but can be read as a ‘stand alone.’
It’s a personal thing but I found the story being told from different viewpoints annoying; I note other reviewers liked that aspect. Certainly the author’s skill was demonstrated and I congratulate him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent book! It started off slow while building the story line, but turned out too be an excellent book! I hope that the next book in the series comes soon. I can’t wait! It was definitely a great first book for the author! Keep up the great work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga 1), September 6, 2013
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)

The synopsis of this book does not get even close to giving this book justice. It is just a small part of a great tale. So if you are thinking it doesn’t sound interesting you need to think again, there is just so much more to it.Maerlin plays a very important part of a war in the making. Though a series of events she finds herself in the hands of Nessa, a magic wielder and is shown that the storms that have followed her all her life are so much more than she ever thought. Growing in the knowledge of the Wild-Magic she has she finds herself in the unlikely group of a prince in hiding, the heir to the begger throne as well as a war chief and a close friend. Its up to her to grasp her magic before things turn towards the dark.Hmm, I usually don’t try to sum books up like that but I feel it needed to be done in order to express how much is really going on in this book. Its not just Maerlin coming to grips with her life, there is so much more going on under the surface of things.The book is told from a few different point of views, though in the beginning you are mainly focused of Maerlin as she learns what exactly she is. This is done brilliantly, there is nothing more that I love than being able to view things from so many perspectives. There was never a time that I didn’t know who’s head I was in. It also gives you a chance to get to know everyone that is on this quest and to see how the grow and change.I really liked the way the magic was in this book as well. It is done in a way that I have never seen. I loved the way the people that used it didn’t so much as “use” magic but asked permission to control the elements around them.

The beginning of the book moves a little on the slow side, but that is needed that so you can really get to know everyone, but once things start moving they really take off. I wouldn’t have guessed at everything that happened at the end, though I did kinda figure out who the Dark Mage was towards the end, there was enough subtle clues left that I knew, but at the same time wasn’t 100% sure of it until it was really said out loud. I love when I read books like that, I like to try and figure out exactly whats happening and I either smile because I did or smile because I didn’t. Its fun for me.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, it was a very exciting read for me and I’m very much looking forward to reading more about Maerlin and everyone else.

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 7, 2013
By
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book grabs you as soon as you open the first chapter and holds you until you finish he last. It is literally impossible to put down and the blend of story and believable characters will leave you panting in anticipation of the sequel.
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book and searched for the next. I thought it was not complete and there would be a next volume. Is there?
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the read. Was very interesting. Liked the twist on King Arthur’s story. Characters were well thought out. Can’t wait for the next installment.

5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful story with likeable protagonists., February 26, 2013
By
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the story line. The magical abilities of the protagonists were refreshing, well thought out, and surprising. Really enjoyed this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars Mearlin’s Storms (Stormbringer), February 15, 2013
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This story was great from the beginning till the end.
Great story line and imagination with interesting characters.
Looking forward to read the next sequel.
Higly recomended!
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved the fast pase and the tension absolutely, 25 July 2014
By
Charmaine Panteli (United Kingdom) –
(REAL NAME)
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
All I can say is wow! I loved the fast pase and the tension absolutely recommend

5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 12 May 2014
By
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
At first I was not sure if I would enjoy the book as I didn’t really like any of the main characters. However, as the book is keen to point out, things are not always as they seem. As I progressed further and further I was anxiously reading as quick as could worrying that any of these companions that had grown on me would be lost. Great book, would highly recommend.

3.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to rate this higher but …, 8 May 2014
By
bri193
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found the character dialogue somewhat troublesome.
For a typical sword and magic fantasy setting, reading character dialogue with the odd 21st century injected phrases and words like “getting stick” and even the dreaded “awesome”, ruined the atmosphere for me.
Perhaps it was the author’s intent to emphasise the youthfulness of the main female protagonist though this style, however, the end result for me was a shove back to present reality. This style of dialogue impacted my ability to absorb some of these characters into the setting of a decent story.

This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book! Right up my alley and enjoyed Maerlin’s story – loved Ness! Conal is looking as if he may shape up as a love interest for Maerlin? I hope so! Already got book two and started it last night – hope book 3 isn’t too long in coming out? Very imaginative and I loved the fights – good to see that there were women fighting along side their men too, refreshing that they weren’t hiding away. Well done to the author for the way he sets the beginning of the book too – haven’t read one quite like it in a long time and thoroughly enjoyed it.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars storm bringer, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed will purchase the two following books was surprised how blood thirsty it was look forward to reading the next two
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to the sequel as I want to see how Maerlin’s story pans out.

5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 20 April 2013
By
Ratboy
This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a great read and a very enjoyable fantasy novel. You can tell the author has traveled a lot because of the precise details he uses. For example I’d say he must have dealt with horses extensively because of how they are treated in the book. A fantastic first novel, can’t wait for the next installment!

3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 14 Feb 2013
By

This review is from: Maerlin’s Storm (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Whoever proof read this book did not do a good job. Too many grammatical errors which spoiled the flow of the book. Good author but bad editing.

Emily

I received my copy of this book for free through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.Whilst Maerlin’s Storm may appear at first to be a fairly run of the mill traditional coming of age fantasy tale about a young girl growing into her powers, it soon expands to incorporate rising tensions between warring factions and the journey between an unlikely alliance of characters to reclaim an important heirloom.I really enjoyed this book, particularly the characters. Whilst the book as a whole is primarily plot driven, the characters are most definitely a strength; we meet characters of a variety of ages and backgrounds, each having their own distinct voice and purpose in the story. Some of our main characters are coming of age, but Nav Logan has not fallen into the trap of making them act older than they are, creating some hilarious interactions between these characters which dissolve into childish bickering.The idea of seeking aid from the elements as opposed to wielding them, or wild magic as it is known in the book, is fascinating. It’s just a shame that we were not introduced fully to this magic system! As a personal preference I like magic systems to be robustly created, to be introduced to the methods of the magic, the limitations, the rules, to gain understanding of how a magic system works in and affects the world it exists in. Maerlin’s Storm does not achieve that to a satisfactory level as the plot progresses at a rapid pace, denying the possibility of slowing down for a lesson in magic.The rapid pace of the story also hinders the potential for extensive world building and other expansion. I think this book would definitely benefit from a good editor combing through it to help improve upon some of these weaknesses, and to catch some of the small spelling and grammar errors that remain.

Whilst full immersion into the world may be lacking, there are so many allusions to past events or backstories for characters scattered throughout the text that there is most certainly potential for a series of novellas set in the same world. I would love to learn more about Taliesin’s life and travels, The Battle of the High Kings, the Holy Isle and their teachings, the Order of the Black Dagger… perhaps some adventures of Cull and Broll? Elements of the world that may not have a place in the novels as they are structured, but create enough questions to inspire curiosity!

Overall, a thoroughly engaging read with much potential that I hope is met fully later in the series; the end comes together wonderfully and hints at possible plot points of future books. I would also consider this a good bridging book for teenagers who would like to start progressing from YA to adult fantasy but find the genre somewhat intimidating.

 

Serena

If The Eye of the World were written by an Irish author, it would look like this.Although the plot may not be all that creative, I rarely count that against a book. It was approached in a different way, and the characters are all new. For the most part, I enjoyed reading this book. I appreciated and was fascinated by the Celtic mythology woven in, and wish I knew more about it so as to better understand some of the connections. A lack of knowledge of this topic does not detract at all from the book, however.Another plus: this is a very realistic fantasy, if I may pair those two words in a single sentence (this wouldn’t be the first time). For example, the youngest characters are coming-of-age, which means while maturing, they are still kids and will revert to childish bickering when tired and provoked.Maerlin’s Storm is very plot-driven. I had a difficult time associating with any of the characters, as they seemed a bit two-dimensional and lacking in many emotions. In addition, it seemed that when the author bored of a conversation, he would abruptly state something like, “and then they continued chatting and giggling about various topics,” and move on.Despite being a coming-of-age story, this book is not designed for young minds. There are some rather graphic scenes and a few instances of nudity sprinkled throughout, though I have read much worse. I do not recommend this book for anyone under 16.

(Thanks to author Nav Logan for sending me a free e-copy of his book in exchange for an honest review!)

This review originally posted on poetree

(less)

Angie

The synopsis of this book does not get even close to giving this book justice. It is just a small part of a great tale. So if you are thinking it doesn’t sound interesting you need to think again, there is just so much more to it.Maerlin plays a very important part of a war in the making. Though a series of events she finds herself in the hands of Nessa, a magic wielder and is shown that the storms that have followed her all her life are so much more than she ever thought. Growing in the knowledge of the Wild-Magic she has she finds herself in the unlikely group of a prince in hiding, the heir to the begger throne as well as a war chief and a close friend. Its up to her to grasp her magic before things turn towards the dark.Hmm, I usually don’t try to sum books up like that but I feel it needed to be done in order to express how much is really going on in this book. Its not just Maerlin coming to grips with her life, there is so much more going on under the surface of things.The book is told from a few different point of views, though in the beginning you are mainly focused of Maerlin as she learns what exactly she is. This is done brilliantly, there is nothing more that I love than being able to view things from so many perspectives. There was never a time that I didn’t know who’s head I was in. It also gives you a chance to get to know everyone that is on this quest and to see how the grow and change.I really liked the way the magic was in this book as well. It is done in a way that I have never seen. I loved the way the people that used it didn’t so much as “use” magic but asked permission to control the elements around them.

The beginning of the book moves a little on the slow side, but that is needed that so you can really get to know everyone, but once things start moving they really take off. I wouldn’t have guessed at everything that happened at the end, though I did kinda figure out who the Dark Mage was towards the end, there was enough subtle clues left that I knew, but at the same time wasn’t 100% sure of it until it was really said out loud. I love when I read books like that, I like to try and figure out exactly whats happening and I either smile because I did or smile because I didn’t. Its fun for me.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, it was a very exciting read for me and I’m very much looking forward to reading more about Maerlin and everyone else.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it 1 Jan 2015
 
This book will grab you and keep you hooked from the start, I have loved getting to know the different characters & I loved how it’s written from all the different characters perspectives. Exceptionally well written and I would highly recommend it 😀
The Gathering of the Clans
5.0 out of 5 stars fantabulous 1 Jan 2015
Format:Kindle Edition
Absofrigginglutely loving this series
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened?, June 2, 2014
This review is from: The Gathering of the Clans (The Storm-bringer Saga Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the first book of this series. I waited eagerly for the next book to come out, and bought it straight away. Boy, was that a disappointment.Maerlin started out as such an interesting character, but seriously, what happened in this book? I know the main characters are teenagers, but you’d think that in their world they might grow up a little faster. The whole ‘romance’ (?) thing between Maerlin, Cora and Conal is ridiculous. I don’t like love triangles at the best of times, but this one took the cake. Conal still doesn’t seem to have been able to grow up, despite finally being crowned. Add Maerlin’s great grandmother turning up, a sudden ability to fly on ‘brooms’… I mean, really. About the most interesting development – from my point of view anyway – was Sygvaldr. I am interested in seeing how that progresses – if it progresses.Overall this second volume did not live up to my high expectations based on my enjoyment of Maerlin’s Storm. It is highly doubtful that I will bother with the next book, although I will at least check it out.
 Finally, a HUGE thanks to everyone who has taken the time and effort to write a review. They really are treasured.
Regards
Nav
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing a Great Story, April 16, 2014
By
This review is from: The Gathering of the Clans (The Storm-bringer Saga Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Nav told the NerdGirl team that this could be read as a ‘stand alone’.
I disagree. It is very much worth the effort but I strongly advise reading Book One, Maerlin’s Storm first. Without that as a background I would have been lost and would have been half way through the book before I caught up. The characters of Maerlin and Conal develop from being a witch coming into her powers with puberty and a street urchin/thief into probably the most powerful practitioner of Wild Magic on the world and a young man destined to be King.
The standard set in ‘Maerlin’s Storm’ is maintained and I thoroughly recommend that this be read, with the proviso that, as I said above, I want you to read Book One first.
Like me, you will then look forward to the conclusion (or perhaps not the conclusion) of the story in Book Three (to be released this summer.)
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanciful!, April 7, 2014
This review is from: The Gathering of the Clans (The Storm-bringer Saga Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I very much enjoyed this story and look forward to reading the next in line! Truly anew treasure to add to my collection!

4.0 out of 5 stars Good story characters well defined., March 25, 2014
By

This review is from: The Gathering of the Clans (The Storm-bringer Saga Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed brook 1 enough to chase book 2 enjoyed them both but no book 3 !!! That I can find– it leaves me with a feeling of being not satisfied so it spoilt the experience
5.0 out of 5 stars Really liked book 2! 17 Jan 2014
 
Bought this after reading book 1, Maerlin’s Storm which I had thoroughly enjoyed. This was also a great read. Even if the book gave me a few curve balls in the direction the story went it kept me hooked and I really enjoyed it. I still hold out hope that one aspect of it will go the way I think in book 3, but that’s the romantic in me lol! New characters are colourful especially Sile and Malachi who add to the story but my favourite is still Cull. I look forward to Book 3 later this year. I don’t like to give too much away in a review as it can spoil it for readers but I have to say this was a very enjoyable read.
5.0 out of 5 stars Nac had me on the edge of my seat once … 12 Aug 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Nac had me on the edge of my seat once again I can not wait for the next book in the series awesome
The Black Knights of Crom Cruach
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful! 19 Oct 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was extremely fortunate to receive an ARC of this and boy was I happy! This is the third book in the fabulous Storm-Bringer Saga and I have to say I loved it just as much as the first two. I’ll try and not give any spoilers but boy oh boy are we in for a surprise with Malachi! That’s not the only surprise in this instalment, there’s lots going on with Maerlin and the Dragon King too! And WHAT a revelation regarding the Gods! Edge of your seat exciting, loved it utterly! If you like Epic Fantasy then this series is for you, tho, of course start with book 1. The world building and character development is wonderful and kept me turning the pages, then having to go back and read again as I was supposed to be proofing lol! Dark and menacing at times and lighthearted and funny at others. Mr Logan is a very talented story teller and I already crave the next one! Thank you for allowing me to read this ARC and please hurry up with the next!
5.0 out of 5 stars Book III -Even Better than Book II, which was better that Five Star Book One 18 Nov 2014
By Derek WhitePublished on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
*A Copy of this Book Was Given To Me By The Author In Exchange For An Honest Review*When I reviewed Book One, Maerlin the Storm Bringer, and gave it five stars I did not expect that each successive one in the saga would be better than its predecessor. However, that is what happened.
In this one, Maerlin’s character is further developed as she seeks to break free from the Gods’ hold and find her destiny, but she is not the only character in whom you will take an interest this time.
Apart from Crom Cruach you will identify with Gweedor and wish him success.
Even for a Fantasy Saga this is a long book, but worth it and you will, as I did, only stop page turning long enough to wonder how it will all end in Book Four.Review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Epic Fantasy Reads! 23 Nov 2014
By KrisPublished on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Well I decided to try to read this without reading book 1 or 2…Well that was a challenge, lol. I highly recommend reading in order 😉 I did get through it though and loved it. This would be an awesome series for Fantasy lovers of all ages.Maerlin is just an awesome character all the way around. I got a great feel of all the characters. I really do need to go back and start with book 1 though 🙂 Highly recommend this one!
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars, 1 Jan 2015
This review is from: The Black Knights of Crom Cruach (The Storm-Bringer Saga Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Another great addition to the series which I’m loving 😀
In need of book 4 now 😀
5.0 out of 5 stars Nav Logan please get book 4 out for us enthusiast!, April 30, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Black Knights of Crom Cruach (Storm-Bringer Saga Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The Storm Bringer Saga book 1-2 and 3 enthralled me. I am at the moment totally disappointed that I can not find book 4!!!! Is there one around somewhere? If not when can we expect it?
Terry
Little Words … Full of Big Worlds
You all know how Nav logan is by now don’t you? I mention him enough. Well today, I finished his book Little words … Full of Big Worlds. It’s safe to say, I wasn’t disappointed. You should know by now that I’ll only ever promote a book that I think is worth you reading … And you should be reading this one right now. So be smart you lovely people and check it out! :)”Having been somewhat familiar with the authors works already, this book was a must read. The authors drabbles (100 word flash fiction) had already amused me for many hours. I was looking forward to more of his trademark wit and clever inspiring tales. When I finally sat down to read the book, the drabbles ended up playing second string. Mr. Logan’s poetry is the shining star here, a well kept secret and the definite highlight for me. Each and every poem carefully crafted with the adventure of a full blown novel. Rather than make references to other poets, there is no need. Nav Logan stands on his own with his brand of excellent poetry. Some of the highlights, of which there are many, include… ‘The stumped toe affair’, ‘Houdini the mouse’ and ‘Being a man.’Whether your a drabble fan or looking for your new favourite poet, don’t look any further than this book of little words and big worlds.”
5.0 out of 5 starsA LIFETIME OF EXPERIENCES 15 Nov 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Little Words full of Big Worlds is a story of one man’s life, not in the literal sense, but it is clear that the author has drawn on many of his own experiences. Not everyone will share all of his thoughts but it matters little, for overall it is a compulsive read. The poems and the Drabbles explore many different genres and all are written in the author’s familiar style. There are so many to choose from but I list a few of my favourites. Houdini The Mouse – Nine Out Of Ten Cats Prefer It – Slipping Into Something Comfortable – Bread Delivery – Divine Punishment – The Circle Of Light – and finally my number one choice would be – White Feathers Fall Part 2, a wonderful poem of peace and war.
There are a couple of stories that sound a little familiar and the sheer volume may seem daunting to some but pleasing for others. On a personal note, I would have preferred that those stories in several parts were entered consecutively.
5.0 out of 5 starsA LIFETIME OF EXPERIENCES 15 Nov 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Little Words full of Big Worlds is a story of one man’s life, not in the literal sense, but it is clear that the author has drawn on many of his own experiences. Not everyone will share all of his thoughts but it matters little, for overall it is a compulsive read. The poems and the Drabbles explore many different genres and all are written in the author’s familiar style. There are so many to choose from but I list a few of my favourites. Houdini The Mouse – Nine Out Of Ten Cats Prefer It – Slipping Into Something Comfortable – Bread Delivery – Divine Punishment – The Circle Of Light – and finally my number one choice would be – White Feathers Fall Part 2, a wonderful poem of peace and war.
There are a couple of stories that sound a little familiar and the sheer volume may seem daunting to some but pleasing for others. On a personal note, I would have preferred that those stories in several parts were entered consecutively.

“This compilation is funny, thought-provoking, and surprising, and difficult to put down. I found myself smiling as I read and could personally identify with some chapters. They spoke to long-forgotten memories.

The nature writings are powerful and compelling. The entire book is intelligently written, combined with a sprinkle of humour; sure to enlighten and amuse.… “

Willow Humphrey

4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, interesting and engaging. April 16, 2015
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Nav Logan is a talented author. I thoroughly enjoyed these little insights into the way his mind works. At first I looked at the price, and thought that it was a little expensive, but now I’m glad I bought it! I have smiled, laughed out loud, and even had a few *awwww* moments (because it was so sweet and endearing). Now, the disclaimer… if you hate poetry, don’t bother with this book.
However, I feel it’s an enjoyable read and would highly recommend it.

 Happy Halloween

A.K. Michaels , C.S. Bailey , Nav Logan , Rick Haynes

5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilled, October 31, 2014
By
Colette Wills (Socorro, NM) –
This review is from: Happy Halloween (Kindle Edition)
I love AK Michaels books and The WWV is no exception. With plot twists and turns you never know what will happen. I was her first stalker as an author and am THRILLED to see her team up with other authors for this set for charity. I can’t wait to read the other books because if Mrs. Michaels thinks they are good enough to team up with I know I won’t be disappointed.
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 1 Nov 2014
 
This was a great collaboration by four of the best paranormal authors that I have read! Just right for Halloween night. Thank you guys, for a great wee story.
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously entertaining. 20 Nov 2014
By Wendy
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A truly great collaboration of four obviously talented authors, each cleverly taking a character of there own. My favourite character was officer Cole Fitzgerald, written by c s Bailey. This book was greatly entertaining.
5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this book 18 Nov 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, despite it being a genre I don’t usually care for, what came through to me was the humour of the plot and the character. all the more amazing due to the way it was written with each author taking turns to develop their own characters and propel the lot forward. Well done to them all, and when can we have some more please? R. Dight.
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly Entertaining, October 27, 2014

This review is from: Happy Halloween (Kindle Edition)
Happy Halloween will definitely get you in the mood for the Halloween festivities that are upon us. These authors did a phenomenal job writing this story together and they each add their own special touch to their characters. This story is entertaining, funny, and downright gruesome. It’s a Fang-tastic read.

5.0 out of 5 stars ****Epic****, October 24, 2014
By
This review is from: Happy Halloween (Kindle Edition)
Happy Halloween was definitely an epic read. I loved the different character variations. I am truly impressed with the authors making this Scary Collaboration flow seamlessly. You will be laughing out loud and also experience, omg moments truly fantastic..Fast paced and very intriguing. Thank you A.K . Michaels, C.S. Bailey, Nav Logan and Rick Haynes for dazzling your readers with your creative minds..

One thought on “Book Reviews – What the readers have said…

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews – What the readers have said… | Nav Logan - Author Page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s